Call us on:

CA97: The 2023 Munster Aberdeen-Angus Club Bull & Heifer of the Year Competition

Cattle - Saturday 17 June ➤ Pedigree Aberdeen Angus Cork Summer Show 2023 - Sat, 17th Jun, 2023 - Sun, 18th Jun, 2023

This competition is run by the Munster Aberdeen-Angus Club and is open to all Aberdeen-Angus bull and heifer calves registered with the Irish Aberdeen-Angus Association and exhibited by a breeder living in the Munster province. There will be two classes this year Autumn, calves born on or between September 1st 2022 and December 31st 2022, and Spring, calves born on or after January 1st 2023.

Qualifiers will be held at a number of shows during 2023 with prizes to be awarded in both male and female categories with the final taking place at Dualla Show in August 2023. All animals must be present at the final in order to be eligible to win any prize. Judges for all rounds should be selected from our recommended judging panel.

The decision of the Munster Aberdeen-Angus Club is final in respect to any aspect of the rules or particulars as outlined above.

Cattle - Saturday 17 June - Opening Notes


Commercial & Belgian Blues: Melvin Masterson, Co. Wexford
Charolais & Semential: Seamus Nagle, Co. Clare
Angus & Beef Shorthorn: Robin Lamb, Co. Armagh
Herefords: John Canty, Co. Meath
Limousin: Francis McAuley, Co. Antrim
Shorthorn (Dairy), Holstein & Jersey: Jason Helen, Co. Cork
Beef Heifer & Interbreed: Leo McEnroe, Co. Cavan


Ring 1 - Holstein, Friesian, Jersey, Dairy Shorthorn
Ring 2 - Beef Shorthorn
Ring 3 - Hereford & Angus
Ring 4 - Simmental & Charolais
Ring 5 - Limousin
Ring 6 - Belgian Blue & Commercial


1st - €100, 2nd - €50, 3rd - €35
Champion - €100, Reserve Champion - €50

No entries permitted on day of event.

Entry Fee:  
Class is currently closed for entry.